DG NiMet, Re-elected WMO Executive Council Member - 9japarrot


Home Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Saturday 3 June 2023

DG NiMet, Re-elected WMO Executive Council Member


By Nurat Uthman

The Director General and Chief Executive Officer of, the Nigerian Meteorological Agency, Prof Mansur Matazu, has been re-elected to the Executive Council of the World Meteorological Organization.

Matazu, who has been a member of the Executive Council since assuming office, was recognised for his dedication and commitment to the advancement of the science of meteorology and humanity.

The NiMet boss who is also Nigeria’s Permanent Representative to the WMO was unanimously re-elected to represent Regional Association I (Africa) of the WMO alongside Kenya, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Eswatini, South Africa, Egypt, Burkina Faso and Cote d’Ivoire. His re-election was held during the 19th session of the WMO Congress, and his tenure is for four years.

The World Meteorological Congress is the highest decision-making body of the World Meteorological Organization, comprising 193 Member States and Territories. During the congress, members go through various technical documents and take decisions to make land, atmosphere, and water safety, including the early warning for all initiatives of the United Nations, which WMO leads.

During the congress, as per tradition, members elected a new Secretary-General. After going through several rounds of ballots, Argentina emerged as the President of the organization, replacing Germany whose tenure had elapsed after the Congress. United Arab Emirates, Ivory Coast, Ireland, and India emerged as the First, Second, Third, and Fourth Vice Presidents, respectively.

According to the statement on Saturday by NiMet,” Other Members elected to the Executive Council representing the remaining five Regional Associations of the WMO are China, Saudi Arabia, Japan, Republic of Korea, United Arab Emirates, India, Peru, Guyana, Brazil, Argentina, Canada, United States of America, British Caribbean, Curaçao & St. Maarten, Jamaica, Australia, Singapore, Indonesia, Tonga, United Kingdom, Germany, Switzerland, Romania, Czech Republic, Norway, Italy, Turkey, and France.

“The next financial year of the WMO begins in January 2024 when the tenure of the current WMO Secretary-General expires. The news of Prof. Matazu’s re-election has been received with widespread pleasure and is being hailed as a  major achievement for the meteorological community in Nigeria.”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad